: Committee Members

The expert group brought together practitioners from companies, trade unions, civil society and the European Commission, as well as academics. The academic direction of the project was originally based at the Hertie School of Governance, chaired by Prof. Dr. Anke Hassel.

In 2015, the Hans-Böckler-Stiftung set up the expert group 'Workers' Voice in European Corporate Governance' to evaluate what contribution workers' participation can make to the central management of multinational companies. What effects can Workers' Voice have as an element of good and sustainable corporate governance, getting companies to commit more deeply to their social responsibilities? Clearly, Workers' Voice is an instrument that the EU should reinforce.


Members of the expert group on Workers’ Voice at a meeting in Berlin:

  •   1    Nicole Helmerich, Université de Lausanne, Switzerland (academic secretariat)
  •   2    Theresa Mattheß, Hans-Böckler-Stiftung, Düsseldorf (assistant)
  •   3    Amanda Slater, Hertie School of Governance, Berlin (assistant)
  •   4    Aline Hoffmann, ETUI – European Trade Union Institute, Brussels
  •   5    Jan Cremers, AIAS – Amsterdam Institute for Advanced Labour Studies, Amsterdam
  •   6    Anke Hassel, Hertie School of Governance, Berlin
  •   7    Eckhard Voss, wmp consult, Hamburg (guest expert)
  •   8    Niklas Bruun, Hanken School of Economics, Helsinki
  •   9    Sophia von Verschuer, Hertie School of Governance, Berlin (academic secretariat)
  •  10   Inger Marie Hagen, Fafo Institute for Labour and Social Research, Oslo
  •  11   Bettina Wagner, Hertie School of Governance, Berlin (academic secretariat)
  •  12   Albert Kruft, Solvay GmbH, Bad Höningen
  •  13   Janet Williamson, TUC – Trades Union Congress, London
  •  14   Wolfgang Kowalsky, ETUC – European Trade Union Confederation, Brussels
  •  15   Norbert Kluge, Hans-Böckler-Stiftung, Düsseldorf
  •  16   Lucia Peveri, Unicredit, Italian Trade Union Federation UILCA, Milano
  •  17   Hermann Soggeberg, Unilever Deutschland GmbH, Essen
  •  18   Robbert van het Kaar, AIAS – Amsterdam Institute for Advanced Labour Studies, Amsterdam
  •  19   Christoph Florian Harland-Juhl, Volkswagen AG, Wolfsburg
  •  20   Sigurt Vitols, WZB Berlin Social Science Center, Berlin
  •  21   Aline Conchon, industriAll, Brussels

Further members of the expert group:

  • Gabriele Bischoff, Member of the European Parliament, Brussels
  • Thomas Fischer, German Confederation of Trade Unions, DGB, Berlin
  • Michael Guggemos, Hans-Böckler-Stiftung, Düsseldorf
  • Pierre Habbard, TUAC/OECD, Paris
  • Peter Kerckhofs, Eurofound, Dublin
  • Annika Ögren, Husqvarna Group, Stockholm
  • Valeria Pulignano, Centre for Sociological Research, Katholiek Universiteit Leuv
  • Fernando Vasquez, Senior Policy Officer EU Commission, DG (retired)